Up to 70% Off!  
Up to 70% Off! See The Sale  
Your Current Savings
Bonus Discount {{memorialDay.bonusDiscount}}%
Watch the Horizontal 3-Note Arpeggios online guitar lesson by Frank Vignola from Modern Method for Guitar

In this play-along we play the horizontal major arpeggio in all 12 keys around the cycle of fourths just as we did with the major scale. The object is to get through all 12 keys at a slow tempo without stopping.

1. In this play-along we will play the major arpeggios around the cycle of fourths, ascending and descending on each string horizontally.

2. Begin with the root note of each of the arpeggios and play the arpeggios up and down the fingerboard beginning on the E string and go around the cycle before moving to the next string.

3. It is up to you to take this exercise to the other 5 strings.

4. A good way to begin this exercise is to start by playing just the root notes of each key on each string:

C, F, Bb, Eb, Ab, Db, Gb, B, E, A, D, G

5. Next, begin on the lowest note of the arpeggio. For example: in C, start with the open E, the 3rd of the arpeggio, in the key of F start on F the root, in the key of Bb start on F the 5th, in the key of Eb start on G the 3rd, etc.

6. Use this same approach to play arpeggios on all strings around the cycle of fourths.

7. Note that in the video I do all 12 keys on the high E string. Another approach is to play in each key on all 6 strings before moving to the next key, as written in the notation that follows.